

## 2016 Barbecue Recreation Tournament Wrap-up

Zack Terry of Schenectady defeated Billy McGaffin of Amsterdam 205 – 200 to win the Capital District Youth Scholarship Tour tournament held at Barbecue Recreation on Sunday, March 20th.

The stepladder finals began with the third-seeded Justin Carl of Albany defeating fourth-seeded Brandon Wolf of Schenectady 215 – 192. Wolf won a \$75 scholarship for finishing fourth. The second-seeded McGaffin then closed with four consecutive strikes to edge Carl 213 – 211 and advance to the title match. Carl earned a \$100 scholarship for finishing third.

In the championship match, both bowlers began with two strikes in the first three frames; but Terry held a one-pin lead. He extended the lead to 13 pins after five frames. McGaffin then rolled strikes in the sixth through eighth frames to close to within two pins. Needing a mark in the tenth frame for the victory, Terry rolled a strike on his first ball win his third career title (third of the season) and a \$300 scholarship. McGaffin won a \$175 scholarship for his runner-up finish.

The tournament format had each bowler roll four games; with the top four bowlers advancing to a stepladder finals that was taped for broadcast on the April 3rd episode of the Huck Finn's Capital Region Bowling Show. Wolf began with 256 to take the early lead. Terry then rolled a 256 in Game 2 to rise from tenth place and into the lead. He closed with games of 200 and 247 to pull away and earn the top seed by 50 pins with a 909 series. McGaffin rolled a 267, the highest game of the day, in Game 2 to vault from 25th into fourth place. Closing games of 198 and 227 enabled him to earn the second seed. Carl rolled 235 and 216 in his final two games to rise from ninth place and become the third seed. Wolf closed with a 202 to rise from sixth place after three games and edge Christopher Kokes of Mooers by five pins for the final spot on the telecast.

A field of 35 bowlers competed in our twelfth tournament of the season and earned \$895 in scholarships; bringing the season total to \$16,120. Additional scholarship winners are as follows: Kokes (\$50) in fifth place; Jonathan Bowman of Peru (\$30) in sixth; and Dominick Favata of Niskayuna (\$25) in seventh.

Our next tournament will begin at 1:00 pm on Saturday April 9, 2016 at East Greenbush Bowling Center. It is our final open tournament of the season and it will also offer optional Junior Gold qualifying for any 2015 – 2016 CDYST members who have competed in at least three prior tournaments this season.

For more information about the CDYST, please visit their website at <a href="www.cdystbowling.com">www.cdystbowling.com</a> or e-mail tournament directors Mark Taylor and Steve Fawcett at CDYSTinfo@aol.com. Additional updates are also posted on the CDYST Facebook page.

E-Mail: CDYSTinfo@aol.com

URL: www.cdystbowling.com



# Statistical Summary

### **Qualifying Round**

							Qualifying	Total	
Position	Name	City	Game 1	Game 2	Game 3	Game 4	Total	+/-	
1	Zack Terry	Schenectady	206	256	200	247	909	+109	Finalist
2	Billy McGaffin	Amsterdam	167	267	198	227	859	+59	Finalist
3	Justin Carl	Albany	222	168	235	216	841	+41	Finalist
4	Brandon Wolf	Schenectady	256	187	163	202	808	+8	Finalist
5	Christopher Kokes	Mooers	236	212	184	171	803	+3	
6	Jonathan Bowman	Peru	213	163	228	195	799	-1	
7	Dominick Favata	Niskayuna	166	189	244	189	788	-12	
8	Andrew Marotta	Ballston Spa	214	153	234	185	786	-14	
9	Alex Alesio	Schenectady	154	215	231	181	781	-19	
10	Kenny Livengood	Ravena	219	158	234	167	778	-22	
11	Morgan Ruggeri	Johnstown	197	170	185	219	771	-29	
12	Christopher Radliff	Schenectady	200	177	182	205	764	-36	
13	Jeh'ron Cherry	Albany	164	159	247	193	763	-37	
14	Michael Boyce	Schuylerville	202	180	186	193	761	-39	
15	Adam Ballard	Albany	182	191	193	194	760	-40	
16	Kasey Kosier	East Greenbush	140	214	190	212	756	-44	
17	Janelle Irwin	Schenectady	158	210	173	211	752	-48	
18	Jay Hadcock	Johnstown	192	225	158	155	730	-70	
19	Patrick Hoey	Latham	218	189	164	156	727	-73	
19	Zachary Bogholtz	Nassau	216	161	149	201	727	-73	
21	Julia Favata	Niskayuna	156	195	194	178	723	-77	
22	Spencer Catlin	Diamond Point	191	186	166	170	713	-87	
23	Ben Drogue	Keene, NH	214	180	163	145	702	-98	
24	Christian Baitinger	Greenfield Center	179	215	158	146	698	-102	
25	Jordan Byrnes	Kinderhook	177	164	173	177	691	-109	
26	Cole Champagne	Albany	192	154	200	138	684	-116	
27	Haley Youker	Minoa	199	176	156	151	682	-118	
28	Logan Brandt	Johnstown	171	170	194	143	678	-122	
29	Amanda Chrzanowski	Schenectady	156	183	158	178	675	-125	
30	Britaney Myers	Mechanicville	187	128	137	220	672	-128	
31	Natalya Porcello	Albany	162	164	150	171	647	-153	
32	Jahlil Young	Albany	158	163	135	187	643	-157	
33	Jordan West	Cohoes	184	193	126	133	636	-164	
34	Jacob LaFountain	Troy	179	123	165	165	632	-168	
35	Donnie Baker	Ravena	133	151	150	135	569	-231	

E-Mail: CDYSTinfo@aol.com URL: www.cdystbowling.com



#### Stepladder Finals

				1 Zack Terry	205	
		2 Billy McGaffin	213			Zack Terry
3 Justin Carl	215			2 Billy McGaffin	200	Champion
		3 Justin Carl	211			
4 Brandon Wolf	192			<u> </u>		

E-Mail: CDYSTinfo@aol.com URL: www.cdystbowling.com

#### Scholarship Winners

		Scholarship
Name	City	Prize
Zack Terry	Schenectady	\$300
Billy McGaffin	Amsterdam	\$175
Justin Carl	Albany	\$100
Brandon Wolf	Schenectady	\$75
Christopher Kokes	Mooers	\$50
Jonathan Bowman	Peru	\$30
Dominick Favata	Niskayuna	\$25
	Zack Terry Billy McGaffin Justin Carl Brandon Wolf Christopher Kokes Jonathan Bowman	Zack Terry Schenectady Billy McGaffin Amsterdam Justin Carl Albany Brandon Wolf Schenectady Christopher Kokes Jonathan Bowman Peru